CXVIII

Kant’s theory of subjectivity: representations always accompanied with an “I think”

Hegel’s theory of subjectivity: “I” always implies a “we”

“But in saying “I,” in invoking this absolutely singular being of mine, I say directly the opposite of singularity. For everyone says “I” in reference to him- or herself. The word “I” which I say means everyone. The I, in this its singularity, is at once completely universal.” (Georg Wilhelm Friedrich Hegel and Clark Butler. Lectures on Logic: Berlin, 1831. Bloomington: Indiana University Press, 2008, pg. 8)

Leave a Reply

